Dorset Local News

Dorset Sports News

Dorset Business News

Why Should You Visit Dorset Local

Summary of Dorset Local

Dorset, administrative, geographic, and historic county of southwestern England. It is bordered by the English Channel (south) and the counties of Devon (west), Hampshire (east), and Somerset and Wiltshire (both north). The historic town of Dorchester, in the south, is the county seat.

The administrative, geographic, and historic counties cover somewhat different areas. The administrative county comprises six districts: the borough of Christchurch, East Dorset, North Dorset, Purbeck, West Dorset, and the borough of Weymouth and Portland. The geographic county encompasses those districts as well as the unitary authorities of Bournemouth and Poole. The historic county excludes Bournemouth, Christchurch, and part of East Dorset, which instead belong to the historic county of Hampshire. Along its western border the administrative county has gained small areas of the historic counties of Devon and Somerset through boundary adjustments, while a small section of the historic county of Dorset lies in the administrative county of Somerset.

Dorset is a county in southwest England. It’s known for the Jurassic Coast, a long stretch on the English Channel where the cliffs contain many fossils, and rock formations show millions of years of geological history. Two prominent natural landmarks are Durdle Door, an ancient stone arch, and the layered cliffs at nearby Lulworth Cove. The towns of Poole, Weymouth and Swanage are popular for their sandy beaches. ― Google

Area: 2,653 km²
Population: 4.27 lakhs (2018)

Points of Interest & Landmarks in Dorset

  1. The Cobb
  2. Old Harry Rocks
  3. Weymouth Harbour
  4. Portland Bill Lighthouse
  5. Mudeford Quay
  6. Sandworld Sculpture Park
  7. Stair Hole
  8. Wimborne Model Town
  9. Clouds Hill
  10. Mapperton House & Gardens